top of page

Foundation Awards


Sir Henry Royce Foundation - Award for Australian Apprentice of the Year     

The SHRFA wishes to promote excellence in the engineering tradition of Sir Henry Royce by recognizing and annually awarding a current apprentice who demonstrates an outstanding skill-set and attitude and who is currently employed in Australia in the servicing of Rolls-Royce and Bentley products including diesel, aero or commercial engines as well as coachbuilding.

The winner will be announced at the annual Rolls-Royce Owners’ Club, Australia in NSW in May 2025.
The award is $1000 plus name added to the perpetual trophy.   
Applications close on February 28, 2025.

Click here for current and past winners. Click here for details and information. Click here for the 2024 application form.

FJ Engish Award for RROCA Club Members' Photographs of Club Events

The name of the Award recognises the photographic contribution to The Foundation of the F. J Engish Photographic Archive, containing some 20,000 photographs of cars and people, particularly of RROCA and Branch events.  This Archive was gifted to The Foundation by 50-year RROCA Member Fred Engish who has taken these photographs over his time with the Club.  A prize is awarded to the Club Member whose photograph, taken at a Club event during the calendar year,  is judged by the Trustees as being of artistic merit and is representative of the ethos of the Club in relation to both Rolls-Royce and Bentley cars and fellowship amongst Members.”  The current process is for the Praeclarvm Editor to “advertise” the Award in the last two issues for the year with a closing date of end-February to allow adjudication of the Award prior to presentation at the annual Federal  RROC-A Rally. Entries for 2024 close March 1, 2025.

Click here for current and past winnersClick here to download the entry form.


Sir Henry Royce Foundation - Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering
Sir Henry Royce Foundation - Awards for Excellence for Apprentices in Automotive studies. There are two awards for apprentices in Automotive studies at Kangan Institute.

           1) The SHRF  award is presented to an automotive apprentice who has made
               a significant contribution to the pursuit of excellence in their studies at the
               Victorian Kangan Institute.  The award was first presented in 2007 and consists
               of a trophy and a cheque for $1,000.

           2) The Lionel Gell School of Instruction Award to the apprentice of the year in
                Automotive studies which carries a cheque for $5,000.

A perpetual trophy which records the award winners is housed in the Foundation's Archive. Click here for current and past winners.

Foundation Trophy

This trophy is awarded solely at the discretion of the Trustees. This trophy is awarded to a person who, in the opinion of the Trustees, has made a significant and long-term contribution to the ideals of Sir Henry Royce – the pursuit of excellence.

Click here for current and past winners.

The Sir Henry Royce Foundation - Art Award

The Foundation’s Art Award, held under the auspices of the
Sherbrook Art Society, Sherbrook, Melbourne. Paintings entered
into this competition must have a Rolls-Royce or Bentley as the
main theme. The standard of paintings is extremely high. The
three prize-winning paintings are acquired by The Foundation
under the terms of the competition and are and are hung in
Bill Allsep House. Cash prizes for first, second and third.

Click here for current and past winners.

The Sir Henry Royce Foundation - Research Award

In 2017, the Trustees of the Foundation initiated ‘The Sir Henry Royce Foundation Research Award. This award, with a prize of $500, which will be awarded annually to the person who in the opinion of Trustees, has made best use of Foundation ‘Archive’ to research a topic of Rolls-Royce and Bentley interest and who has published this research in Praeclarum or in a wider distribution, publicly available media.  This Award is open to all, not just members of the RROC-A. Entries must be submitted to the Hon. Archivist by end-January so that the Trustees and Archivist can decide on a winner for announcement at the annual  Federal Rally of the RROCA. 

Click here for the Nomination Form
Click here for current and past winners.


©All rights reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form, by any means electronic or mechanical, including photocopying and recording without express written consent from the copyright owner. Individual works of art are copyright of respective copyright owner.

bottom of page